Join Our Network

Suffolk’s High Sheriff launches The High Sheriff Awards 2016

high sheriff awards 2016
The High Sheriff of Suffolk, Judith Shallow.

The High Sheriff of Suffolk Judith Shallow has launched the High Sheriff’s annual awards, and is calling for voluntary groups to submit their entries for these leading community awards that reward the people doing ground-breaking and life-changing work across our county.

“During 2015 I have travelled throughout the County and have come across many extraordinary individuals and groups of all ages who voluntarily devote their time and energy to improve the communities in which they live or work, and make Suffolk a better and safer place to live,” said Judith Shallow, High Sheriff of Suffolk.

“The High Sheriff’s Awards, run by Suffolk Community Foundation, seek to recognise local groups and volunteers and celebrate their sterling work. Please help us to identify these groups and individuals whose unselfish efforts make such a difference and deserve our recognition, as much of their work goes on unnoticed,” she said.

Entries can now be submitted for seven categories:

  • The Corporate Community Partnership of the Year
  • Community Group or Organisation of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Under 25 Young Volunteer of the Year
  • Youth Organisation of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • The High Sheriff’s Special Award for the Arts

The High Sheriff’s Special Award for the Arts is a new award for this year, to recognise those involved with a charity or community project which effectively supports vulnerable people in our communities through the beneficial power of the arts.

“This new award has special meaning to me personally, having earlier this year helped to launch a new Arts & Culture Fund with Suffolk Community Foundation,” said High Sheriff Judith Shallow. “I have witnessed first-hand the hugely beneficial and therapeutic effect that the arts can have on local communities, and wish to recognise and celebrate this wonderful work.”

This year’s awards are sponsored by Go Ape! Ipswich Building Society, Suffolk Chamber of Commerce and Thurlow Nunn Standen Ltd.* In each category the chosen winner will receive a trophy and up to £1,000 as a cash prize for their voluntary organisation or community group.

Nomination forms are available online or by calling Melanie Willis on the number below. Entries must be received by Suffolk Community Foundation, by 25 January 2016. The awards will be presented at a ceremony hosted by BBC Radio Suffolk’s presenter Lesley Dolphin and Suffolk Community Foundation’s Development Director Tim Holder, at the Museum of East Anglian Life near Stowmarket on Thursday 31 March 2016.

Last year’s six winners were:

  • Community Group of the Year – Lofty Heights social enterprise project
  • Youth Group of the Year – Inspire Suffolk
  • Under 25 Volunteer of the Year – Bryony Charles, Event Co-ordinator at the St John Ambulance Bury St Edmunds unit.
  • Volunteer of the Year – Glenn Owen of the Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Families Association (SSAFA).
  • Corporate Community Partnership of the Year category – Waitrose Sudbury and The Bridge Project
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Canon Richard Norburn for 55 years of charity work.

For further information about the awards please contact: Melanie Willis, Communications Business Executive, e-mail: [email protected] or telephone 01473 602 602.

* There are three award categories available for sponsorship, any business that would like to find out more please contact Melanie Willis at Suffolk Community Foundation.

(source: Suffolk Community Foundation)